Make your own free website on

PHOTO CALL: Cabaret Celebrates Its First Year At Studio 54 Nov. 17

Photo by Aubrey Reuben
November 22, 1999

Studio 54 One Year Anniversary

The cast of Cabaret celebrated their first year at Studio 54 Nov. 17 with a cake cut by director-choreographer Rob Marshall (who shared the job with Sam Mendes ("American Beauty").

Cabaret moved to Studio 54 on Nov. 12, 1998, after its initial run at Henry Miller's Theatre on West 43rd was closed due to a mid-summer construction accident at Four Times Square. The accident stopped Cabaret performances less than six months into its run, and at a time when it was one of the hottest single tickets on Broadway. Later, separate conflicts with the venue's management prompted the idea to move permanently.

Currently in the Cabaret cast are Susan Egan (Sally Bowles), Michael Hall (the M.C.), Michael Hayden (Cliff), Carole Shelley (Fraulein Schneider), Dick Latessa (Herr Schultz), Victoria Clark (Fraulein Kost) and Martin Moran (Ernst).